Okay - the first column is a little tribute to Judge Bill on the MTG site (and CotD over here) who has been with Pojo forever now. But, it does look like I'll be handling a lot of the VS rules questions, so let the games begin!
Q: If my Bishop is attacked by a team attack of two range characters, does he get his +3/+3 bonus two times, or just once?
A: Bishop gets the bonus for every creature with range attacking him. If it's 2, then it's twice. If it's four, then it's 4 times.
Q: If I team attack with 6 drop Rogue and another X-men character, is the stunned character still ko'd by Rogues ability?
A: Why not? Rogue is still stunning the defender, right? She has some help, but it doesn't matter since she is a part of the attack.
Q: When, exactly, can I reinforce one of my teammate? Can I reinforce as a fast effect BEFORE the attack is resolved, or can I just reinforce at any old time? Example: My front row character is being attacked, and I have a support row character behind him ready to reinforce. If my opponent somehow exhausts my support row guy (say, by means of Dazzler or Banshee), can reinforce as my guy is becoming exhausted?
A: You can tap to reinforce anytime after an attack has been declared on that character, and before damage resolves from the attack. You can not reinforce a character that has not been assigned as a defender, though.
Q: Hi Pojo, I have recently bought the Marvel VS TCG and have been unable to get my head around how initiative works. I would be very greatful for you to explain it to me.
A: Vs is a unique system in that no particular player "controls" a turn. Each turn is taken by both players. To determine who does what in what order, we have "initiative". What initiative means is it's the player who gets to resolve chains of events first.
First, the player with initiative will play their resource step, build step, and formation step. After that, the next player (or opponent) completes their steps. When it comes to attacking, the player with initiative declares all their attacks before the other players. During the recover step, the player with initiative makes all the choices first with who to and who not to recover. In this game of shared turns, initiative designates who is the default "active" player within a turn.
I hope this clarified things a bit.
If you have any rules questions you want answered, fire them off to PojoVSjudge@hotmail.com. We'll answer them in the next column.
Until next time, keep playing!
Copyright Pojo.com 1998-2004