Bill Guerin
Level II Judge


 

HOME

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers
Scott Gerhardt
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Andy VanZandt
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage  
Paul's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Title - Opponents Choosing Targets
Questions: 6
1.25.05
 
Q: Player #1 has a Preacher. When is the target of Preacher chosen?
 
A: Targets are always, always, always, ALWAYS chosen when you play a spell or ability.
 
---
 
Q: Player 2 asked if he could pick the target before resolution - pick the Morphling then when the spell is on the stack make the Morphling untargetable.
 
-Dan
 
A: Yes. Whoever makes the targeting choices, targets are ALWAYS chosen when you play a spell. It does not matter who makes the targeting choice.
 
---
 
Q: A friend of mine has a white Cleric that you tap 5 untapped clerics and gain 5 life. Can he use the ability during other players turns?
 
-Robert T.
 
A: Yes. You always receive priority on other players turns right after they pass priority.
 
---
 
Q: If I have 2 Ember-Fist Zuberas in play, and I first sacrifice one, and after its ability resolved I sacrificed another one. My question is, does the first zubera make me take another 1 damage because of the second zubera that went into the graveyard, or it only the counts the number of zuberas that went into the graveyard that turn when its ability resolved?
 
-Lim W.
 
A: Once an ability resolves, it does its thing, and that's it. Abilities can reach past the point they resolve to do more things.
 
So the first Zubera will only do 1 damage.
 
(If you somehow sacrifice the second Zubera while the first Zubera's ability is on the stack (before it resolves), then the first will do 2 damage when its ability resolves.)
 
---
 
Q: Can I clone a Doppelganger?  Or would I just clone whatever Doppelganger is ganging?
 
-Michael
 
A: When you Clone a Doppelganger, you copy the base Doppelganger card, not whatever the Doppelganger is copying right then.
 
---
 
Q: I have a question if I control Kiki-Jiki and Mirror Gallery, can I make a Kokusho token?
 
-Soshi
 
A: Um, no. Read Kiki-Jiki ... it can only copy non-legendary creatures. Since Kokusho is a legend, you can't choose it.
 
(Mirror Gallery only stops the rule preventing two legends from being in play at once. It does not change the legendary status of a card.)
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 1998-2005 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.