Bill Guerin
Level II Judge


 

HOME

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers
Scott Gerhardt
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Andy VanZandt
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage  
Paul's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Title: Hesitating Mongeese
Questions: 6
1.18.05
 
---
 
Q: I have Hesitation in play and then I play Blurred Mongoose. Do I get to keep Hesitation in play since the Mongoose can't be countered???
 
-Mikkel
 
A: No. A spell was played, so Hesitation will be sacrificed. It attempts to counter the Mongoose, but fails, since the Mongoose can't be countered.
 
---
 
Q: I know I can play instants whenever I have priority. But for example, it's my turn, I use the sorceries and choose my attackers. Can my opponent use instants when it's his/her time to decide his/her blockers? After him, can I reply his/her decision with other instants?
 
A: You can play an instant whenever you have priority. Each player gets priority each time something happens, and whenever a phase/step begins. For an outline of what happens in the combat phase, see Mantra 10.
 
---
 
Q: I attack with Spectral Bears, and my opponent doesn't have any black cards, I can't untap it next time, I have to wait for my second untap phase (I mean, the second turn after that). While it's tapped, can I declare it as an attacker next turn?
 
A: No. You can only declare untapped creatures as attackers.
 
---
 
Q: With Chartooth Cougar's ability (R: Chartooth Cougar gets +1/+0 until end of turn), can I pay that mana cost only once or can I pay the most I can?
 
A: See Mantra 12.
 
---
 
Q: Can I play Holy Day used after the combat?
 
A: Sure. It won't do anything though ... it won't go back in time and undo the combat damage.
 
---
 
Q: Can I have more than 20 hit points?
 
-Fabiano S.
 
A: Yes.
 
See you tomorrow, with a reprint of my column on prereleases, and Friday for more rules questions.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 1998-2005 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.