Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Visiting the Mana Bank

09.21.04 

Questions: 11

 
 
Q: What does Upwelling do?
 
A: Think of Upwelling as a "mana bank." Normally, your mana pool would clear at the end of every phase. Upwelling stops this, allowing you to "store up mana" through several turns.
 
So, for example, you cast Upwelling turn 4. Turn 5, you play a land. At the end of your opponent's turn (right before you untap), you tap all your land for mana. Normally, the mana pool would clear before you untap, and you would lose 5 life. But with Upwelling, the mana pool doesn't clear. You can then play a land next turn, tap all 6 land, and, with the 5 mana you "saved up," you have a total of 11 mana, just enough to cast a Darksteel Colossus.
 
---
 
Q: One more Question... With Worldslayer, "Whenever equipped creature deals combat damage to a player, destroy all permanents other than Worldslayer." Does this account for mana. If so is it just Basic mana or is it non-Basic as well or only non-basic. Thank you again.
 
-Xanza
 
A: Mana is not a permanent. I believe you're thinking of lands, which produce mana. (Remember Mantra 12.)
 
All lands will be destroyed by Worldslayer's effect, whether they are basic or not.
 
---
 
Q: Does Darksteel Forge prevent artifact creatures from being destroyed?
 
-RX7
 
A: Yes. Artifact creatures are artifacts and creatures, so since they are artifacts, they will be indestructible.
 
---
 
Q: Disciple of the Vault: when an artifact in play goes to a graveyard, can the owner of the disciple choose which player takes the damage, or does the damage go to the player who loses the artifact?
 
A: Let's read the ability printed on Disciple of the Vault, shall we?
 
"Whenever an artifact is put into a graveyard from play, you may have target opponent lose 1 life."
 
Target opponent. That means when an artifact goes to the graveyard, you have to choose an opponent to target with the ability.
 
---
 
Q: Thicket Basilisk: if a creature with first strike kills it, does the Basilisk's ability become cancelled?
 
A: "Whenever Thicket Basilisk blocks or becomes blocked by a non-Wall creature, destroy that creature at end of combat."
 
The ability triggers when it is blocked. Once the ability triggers, it exists independently from the Basilisk. That means no matter what happens to the Basilisk, the creature will be destroyed in the end of combat step.
 
---
 
Q) If a creature is regenerated during a combat that would otherwise kill it, does it get to strike back?
 
A: 419.6b: “Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage from it, tap it, and (if it’s in combat) remove it from combat.”
 
Note the last thing regeneration does - it removes the creature that was regenerated from combat. Therefore, if a regenerator (without first strike) blocks a creature with first strike, and the creature does lethal damage to it, the regeneration will remove it from combat before it can do its damage. So no, it won't get to strike back.
 
---
 
Q) If a card is destroyed or sent to the graveyard during play, can the owner of the destroyed card then officially sacrifice it, even tho it was destroyed?
 
-Rob
 
A) First, remember Mantra 1. A spell or ability will be resolving that will destroy the creature. You can sacrifice the creature before that spell or ability resolves, but if you let the spell or ability resolve, then you can't do anything before it's done doing its thing (and by that time, the creature will be in the graveyard).
 
So if you are in the process of destroying or otherwise putting a creature in your graveyard, you can't sacrifice it. Once again though, you CAN sacrifice it before the spell or ability that would destroy or send it to the graveyard resolves.
 
---
 
Q: I have played a Limited Resources and the next turn I play Parallax Tide. When I remove my opponent's lands from the game and replace them with mine, then what happens when the Parallax Tide is destroyed during my upkeep from lack of counters on it? Do my opponent's lands come back into play or do they stay removed from the game?
 
~Patrick
 
A: All Limited Resources prohibits players from doing is taking the (normally once per turn) special action of playing a land. If a land would come into play in a way other than playing it, Limited Resources won't do anything to that land.
 
So the lands will come back into play once Parallax Tide goes away.
 
Limited Resources
{W}
Enchantment
When Limited Resources comes into play, each player chooses five lands he or she controls and sacrifices the rest.
Players can't play lands if there are ten or more lands in play.
 
---
 
Q: Can I somehow use Disrupting Scepter during my opponent's draw step so they discard a card right after they draw it?
 
-Joann
 
A: I think the Oracle wording speaks for itself.
 
Disrupting Scepter
{3}
Artifact
{3}, {T}: Target player discards a card from his or her hand. Play this ability only during your turn.
 
---
 
Q: Can I use Reshape to put a Leveler from my deck into play on my opponent's side?
 
A: No. You put the card in play on your side of the board.
 
---
 
Q: Also, in the Mantras, does that mean I can't wait until my opponent says they will take the damage and then boost my Megatog up to like a 21/21?
 
-Dustin G.
 
A: Let's read Mantra 10 again, specifically the Declare Blockers step:
 
"Declare Blockers Step: ... Once a legal set of blockers has been declared, both players may play instants. Once both players pass priority with an empty stack, go on to the next step."
 
Instants include instant speed abilities. Therefore, you can play the ability of Megatog after blockers are declared.
 
(Declaring 0 blockers, which is what your opponent does when they say they "take the damage," is still declaring blockers.)
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.