Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Stopping Time

09.14.04 

Questions: 15

 
Q: Can Time Stop be countered?
 
Time Stop - {4}{U}{U}
Instant
End the turn. (Remove all spells and abilities on the stack from the game, including this card. The player whose turn it is discards down to his or her maximum hand size. Damage wears off, and "this turn" and "until end of turn" effects end.)
 
-kunoego
 
A: Yes. It doesn't say it can't be countered, so, like any normal spell, it can be countered. If Time Stop is countered, the turn continues on as normal.
 
---
 
Q: If you play a True Believer and have a Exalted Angel out can you gain life still when my Exalted Angel attacks?
 
A: Yes. Since the Exalted Angel's ability doesn't use the 6 letters "TARGET" right in a row, it doesn't target. Thus, True Believer won't do anything to it.
 
---
 
Q: With Decimate, do you have to destroy all of the things on what the card says or can you choose what you want to destroy?
 
A: To be able to play Decimate, you must be able to destroy one of each type of card. If there is no artifact out (for example), then you can't play Decimate.
 
---
 
Q: Does a token hit the graveyard?
 
-Brian
 
A: Yes, and then it is immediately removed from the game.
 
---
 
Q: During my opponent's Upkeep step, I tap my Dream Thrush, turning his Swamp into an Island.  He then claimed to tap his Swamp, taking the black mana from it before my Thrush made it an Island. 
 
1) Can he do that?
 
A: Yes.
 
---
 
Q2: Can he then use that mana to play and instant that would destroy my Thrush?
 
A: Yes.
 
---
 
Q3: Can he use that mana to play an instant to prevent me from tapping my Thrush by tapping it himself?
 
No. Once the ability is announced, it exists separately from the Thrush. Tapping or removing the Thrush from play won't do anything to the ability on the stack.
 
---
 
Q4: Can he use that mana to play an instant to prevent my Thrush from tapping at all?
 
A: Again, no. See above.
 
---
 
Q5: If he has no instants or activated abilities to use that mana up with, does he suffer mana burn?
 
-DJ
 
A: If he does not use the mana before the end of his draw step, then yes, he will mana burn.
 
---
 
Q: Can indestructible creatures not be destroyed what so ever? Or are their spells like Wrath of God, Forced March, or even No Mercy that can destroy them?
 
A: Indestructible creatures can't be destroyed. Period. If they would be destroyed, nothing happens.
 
A destroy effect is either (a) an effect that uses the word "destroy" in the spells text, or (b) damage done to the creature that is greater than or equal to its toughness.
 
---
 
Q: If not then is removing from the game the only way possible to get rid of them?
 
-Lyons
 
A: A list of some ways that an indestructible creature can be gotten rid of can be found in my 7 May 2004 column.
 
---
 
Q: In imperative statements a subject is implied, so say, in Final Fortune, it's basically saying 'You take an extra turn', however, would you be able to use Shunt on this card to target your opponent and give them an 'extra turn'. Then how would this work?
 
 
Only the word TARGET denotes a target. "Each" does not denote a target. "All" does not denote a target. "You" does not denote a target. "A player" does not denote a target.
 
Since Final Fortune has no targets, you can't use Shunt on it.
 
---
 
(I have adjusted the next question slightly.)
 
Q: If I end my Final Fortune turn with Time Stop, would I lose?
 
-Austin C.
 
A: No. When you end a turn, you skip all phases and steps between the current one and the cleanup step. Final Fortune's "you lose" trigger happened in the end of turn step, which will be skipped. (If you played Time Stop in the end of turn step in response to the "you lose" trigger, the trigger, the trigger will be removed from the stack as Time Stop resolves, and you'll carry on your merry way.)
 
---
 
Q: If I cast a Soul Burn on my opponent with X=5 and my opponent uses Fork to copy Soul Burn but direct it at me, will the Fork copy damage me and heal him for 5 or will the value of X in the copy be 0?
 
-SHE
 
A: 503.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original objectís characteristics (name, mana cost, color, type, supertype, subtype, expansion symbol, rules text, power, and toughness) and, for an object on the stack, choices made when playing it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether a kicker cost was paid, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on).
 
Since the value of X is copied, you'll lose 5 life to the copied Soul Burn, and he'll gain 5 life. (Your original, presuming the copy didn't kill you, will then do the exact opposite, leaving everyone back where they started.)
 
---
 
Q: On equipment cards that say "Equip only as a sorcery" what does that mean?
 
-Prime
 
A: It means you can play the equip ability only at a time when you can play a sorcery speed ability (meaning during one of your main phases, with an empty stack).
 
---
 
As I noted a couple of weeks ago, my next column will exclusively deal with the prerelease. All rules questions will be held for my next column one week from today.
 
(If you have a Champions of Kamigawa rules question, I will do my best to answer it as soon as I read it via email if you send it before the prerelease, to help you understand how it works before the prerelease.)
 
See you Thursday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

 

 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.