Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

More Splice Fun

10.08.04 

Questions: 9

 
Q: I am curious about how Shell of the Last Kappa interacts with the Splice mechanic.
 
If a player targets me with an arcane spell and then splices Glacial Ray onto it and I activate Shell of the Last Kappa targeting the original Arcane spell. Would I remove just the Arcane or would I also remove the Glacial Ray from the game and have the option to cast either with the Shell?
 
A: You would just remove the original arcane spell. When you splice a card, the link to the card that was "spliced on" ends as soon as the card was played - it just puts the extra text on the spell and goes away.
 
---
 
Q: What if the original spell doesn't target me but the Glacial Ray does, do I just get the Glacial Ray?
 
-Mike
 
A: No. You just get the original arcane spell.
 
---
 
Q: If I have 2 Ghostly Prisons in play, how much mana does my opponent has to pay for each creature he attacks with and why?
 
A: 4. Each Ghostly Prison makes you pay 2 mana. 2+2=4. (See Mantra 9.)
 
---
 
Q: If I play a Kodoma's Might and spliced another Kodoma's Might on it, can I choose both targets as the same creature?
 
-Tan Cai Zhao
 
A: Yes. From the Champions FAQ:
 
* The target for a card that's spliced onto a spell may be the same as the target chosen for the original spell or for another spliced-on card. (A recent change to the targeting rules allows this, but most other cards are unaffected by the change.)
 
The rule change referenced is as follows:
 
409.1c If the spell or ability requires any targets, the player first announces how many targets he or she will choose (if the spell or ability has a variable number of targets), then announces the targets themselves. A spell or ability can’t be played unless the required number of legal targets are chosen. The same target can’t be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word “target” on the spell or ability. If the spell or ability uses the word “target” in multiple places, the same object or player can be chosen once for each instance of the word “target” (as long as it fits the targeting criteria).
 
The last sentence is the change instituted in Champions. Each time the word "target" appears on the card, the restriction on having to target a different thing is lifted.
 
The Spliced Kodama's Might reads:
 
"Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn. Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn."
 
Since "target" appears twice, you can choose the same creature for both targets.
 
---
 
Q: Can I use buyback more than once with the same card, like I use the card and buy it back, than next turn I use it again and than can I buy it back again. as well can I use buyback twice in one turn, like use the card than buyback than use it again and buy it back again?
 
-James
 
A: This is all legal. Once the spell with buyback has returned to your hand, you can play it again. If you pay the buyback cost again, it will again return to your hand.
 
---
 
Q: If I have a Sosuke, Son of Seshiro in play, and my friend attacks with (insert big fatty here) with a General's Kabuto, and Sosuke blocks the fatty, will the Kabuto save it, or will Sosuke poison the fatty and kill it?
 
-Richard S.
 
A: The damage is prevented by the Kabuto. Prevented damage was never dealt, so the Sosuke won't trigger. The creature will live.
 
---
 
Q: Can a creature that has an ability which involves sacrificing creatures, sacrifice itself in order to use the ability?
 
For example:
 
I kill Bosh Iron Golem in combat - opponent sacrifices the Golem using its own ability - I get both combat damage from Golem and Golem's ability damage. Can this be done?
 
-Kalle  
 
A: Yes. If combat damage is already on the stack, he can sacrifice the Bosh before damage is dealt, and still deal the combat damage originally assigned by Bosh.
 
---
 
Q: Can I use Unsummon to return a creature to my hand from my graveyard?
 
-Lee C.
 
A: No. Creatures only exist in play. Everywhere else, they are only creature cards.
 
---
 
Q: I have a Mogg Fanatic in play. He's tapped from attacking the previous turn, and on my opponents turn, he Dark Banishes it. May I, in response, sacrifice the Mogg Fanatic to deal one point of damage to him, thereby nullifying the effect of the Banishing?
 
-Saidin
 
A: Yes.
 
See you Tuesday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.