Judge Bill


HOME

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers
Scott Gerhardt
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Andy VanZandt
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage  
Paul's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

11.9.04 

Questions: 12 

 

Mis-Possession
---

 
Q: If I enchant my opponent's creature with an Oni Possession and he has one creature in play,  does he sacrifice it at the beginning of his upkeep?
 
A: Um, no. It's your Oni Possession. You are the one that has to sacrifice creatures to it.
 
---
 
Q: What is the order of the beginning phases? (upkeep, untap, draw?)
 
-Julian
 
A: 300.1. A turn consists of five phases, in this order: beginning, precombat main, combat, postcombat main, and end. Each of these phases takes place every turn, even if nothing happens during the phase. The beginning, combat, and end phases are further broken down into steps, which proceed in order.
 
301.1. The beginning phase consists of three steps, in this order: untap, upkeep, and draw.
 
306.1. The combat phase has five steps, which proceed in order: beginning of combat, declare attackers, declare blockers, combat damage, and end of combat. The declare blockers and combat damage steps are skipped if no creatures are declared as attackers (see rule 308.4). There are two combat damage steps if any attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 502.2) or double strike (see rule 502.28).
 
312.1. The end phase consists of two steps: end of turn and cleanup.
 
---
 
Q: If you have a Kiki-Jiki out in play, and you make Forbidden Orchard a creature until the end of turn, as long as you didn't use Kiki-Jiki before, you could make Forbidden Orchard tokens?
 
-Ixidor
 
A: Yes. (only one, though, unless you somehow manage to untap Kiki-Jiki.)
 
---
 
Q: What happens if an infinite loop starts (for example, Kiku, Nights Flower targeting Tephraderm with a Shield of Kaldra equipped)? Will the Tephraderm whack itself forever, or is there some rule that stops this?
 
A: This is not an infinite loop. The Tephraderm will hit itself once. This will create 2 triggers - (a) Tephraderm's "damage who damaged me" trigger, and (b) Sword of Kaldra's remove from game trigger. The player who controls Tephraderm controls both, so that person chooses how the triggers go on the stack.
 
If that person puts (b) on the stack first, then (a), the Tephraderm will be removed from the game, and then the other trigger will fail to do anything (since the Tephraderm's gone).
 
If the person puts (a) then (b), Then when (b) resolves, the Tephraderm will have 18 damage on it. This is greater than its 10 toughness, so it will be put into the graveyard.
 
You will have another set of (a) and (b) triggers, but no matter how you order them, the new triggers and the first (a) trigger will fail to do anything, since the Tephraderm is no longer in play.
 
---
 
Q: Does Samurai of the Pale Curtain let me destroy "Darksteel" permanents like Colossus, or is Colossus the same old unkillable huge hunk of black metal (as opposed to just a huge hunk of black metal?)
 
-Richard S.
 
A: Permanents have to go to the graveyard to be affected by Samurai of the Pale Curtain.
 
INDESTRUCTIBLE CREATURES CAN'T BE DESTROYED. EVER.
 
So, the Darksteel permanents hit by the destroy effect will have absolutely nothing happen to them, because they can't be destroyed. Since they are not going to the graveyard, Samurai of the Pale Curtain does absolutely nothing to them.
 
---
 
Q: A creature shares its creature type with itself and its colors with itself therefore Konda's Banner will give a legendary red goblin +2/+2. But what happens  If I equip say one of the Invasion dragons (Dromar), will it get +4/+4 because it is creature type dragon and it has 3 colors?
 
A: No. It gets one +1/+1 bonus for sharing a color, no matter the number of colors it shares. (ChK FAQ)
 
Q: What if I equip a legendary black rat samurai? Will it be +3/+3 because it has two subtypes and one color?
 
A: No. It gets one +1/+1 bonus for sharing a creature type, no matter the number of creature types it shares. (ChK FAQ)
 
---
 
Q: Finally, will other creatures that also share 2 subtypes with the equipped legend and a color get +3/+3?
 
-Ricardo
 
A: No. Creatures will receive no more than one +1/+1 bonus from each ability that Konda's Banner has, even if they share multiple things of that ability.
 
---
 
Q: If a Death Cloud is resolving, can you play any spell or activated ability?
 
A: Mantra 1...
 
---
 
Q: And do triggers still go into effect, like Mortuary when your creature dies?
 
A: Yes. The triggers will go on the stack when the spell that created the trigger has finished resolving.
 
---
 
Q: how do creatures work on the stack? For example: my opponent has a vedalken Orrery in play.  I play a Siege Gang Commander, and then he plays a Wrath of God. which one would resolve first?
 
A: No matter how the spells got on the stack, spells on the stack resolve in a last in, first out order. So if he plays the Wrath in response to the Siege Gang, the Wrath will resolve first. (It would be better for him to wait for the Siege Gang to resolve [as well as probably let the token creation resolve] before he plays the Wrath.)
 
---
 
Q: Can you use Arc Slogger's ability 100 times to do 200 damage?
 
A: If you have 1000 or more cards in your library (and 100 red mana), yes.
 
However, if you do not have 1000 cards in your library, then you will not be able to play Arc Slogger's ability 100 times. Removing 10 cards from your library is a cost of playing Arc Slogger's ability. See Mantra 11.
 
---
 
Q: If someone plays a Wrath of God, does each creature die separately or at the same time? and do they hit the graveyard at the same time?
 
-Omary
 
A: They all die and hit the graveyard at the same time. The person whose graveyard the creatures are entering chooses the order they end up in the graveyard.
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 1998-2004 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.