Judge Bill


HOME

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers
Scott Gerhardt
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Andy VanZandt
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage  
Paul's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

11.30.04 
Title: Horobi's Enchantments
Questions: 5
 
---
 
Q: I have a Horobi, Death's Wail in play, then I play a Screams from Within targeting my opponent's creature and thus killing it due to Horobi's ability and returning the Screams from Within to play. Do I get to choose a new target and can this ultimately destroy more than one creature? why or why not?
 
-Metal Biker
 
A: You get to choose a new creature to put Screams from Within on, but this is not targeted. The only time an enchantment targets is when it is played (Cast). Any other method of bringing the enchantment into play does not target the creature the enchantment is being put on.
 
So Horobi won't trigger for the new recipient of Screams from Within.
 
---
 
Q: If I play Blood Moon, it changes artifact lands into mountains. Does this remove the artifact card type as well?
 
A: No.
 
---
 
Q: If not- If I have a Blood Moon in play can I play Echoing Ruin on one artifact land and kill all of the artifact land in play?
 
-Dan
 
A: No. Blood Moon only changes the land type of the card. It does not change the name.
 
---
 
Q: If I put a regeneration shield on an indestructible creature, and then destroy it (say, with Rend Flesh), can I choose to use the regeneration shield?
 
A: No. From the Darksteel FAQ:
 
You can use a regeneration effect on an indestructible permanent, but since that permanent can't be destroyed, the effect will never apply.
 
---
 
Q: If I play a Terminate on a Rhox, and my opponent chooses to put a regeneration shield on, can he choose to use the regeneration shield?
 
-VinnyB
 
A: No. "Can't be regenerated" means exactly that. You can't even try to use a shield.
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 1998-2004 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.