Judge Bill


HOME

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers
Scott Gerhardt
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Andy VanZandt
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage  
Paul's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

11.16.04 

Questions: 16 
 

Shields, not Swords
 
--
 
We start off with a correction from last Tuesday ...
 
Q: I asked about the infinite loop with Kiku, Tephaderm, and SHIELD of Kaldra on Tephaderm (not Sword as you answered in the last column). What happens then?
 
A: That'll be an infinite loop. Assuming no player chooses to hop in at any time during the process, the Tephraderm will go mad hitting itself over and over again.
 
---
 
Q: One more thing- what happens if this goes off in a game? Does the game just go on forever?
 
A: If this happens in a game, assuming no player chooses to interrupt, the game is a draw.
 
---
 
Q: If I imprint a card with Entwine or Kicker on a Panoptic Mirror or Isochron Scepter, do I play the base ability (or play one ability with entwine), both abilities, or pay the extra cost?
 
-Richard S.
 
A: You choose how to play the card with entwine. You can play either mode singly for free, or you can pay the entwine cost and choose both modes.
 
---
 
Q: What is first strike?
 
A: First Strike is just that. Creatures with first strike will do their damage before creatures that don't have first strike (or double strike).
 
---
 
Q: When a card says add 1 to your manna where does it go / come from?
 
-DOTH
 
A: That mana gets added to you mana pool. You use it to cast spells. If you don't use it before the phase ends, you lose 1 life.
 
---
 
Q: If I have a Panoptic Mirror in play and I want to imprint Creeping Mold, will I have to pay two green and two colorless or can I pay any color mana?
 
A: The result for converted mana cost is always an integer. Converted mana cost never includes color, so you will just have to pay 4 mana of any color to imprint the Creeping Mold.
 
Panoptic Mirror
5  
Artifact   
Imprint X, T: You may remove an instant or sorcery card with converted mana cost X in your hand from the game. (That card is imprinted on this artifact.)
At the beginning of your upkeep, you may copy an imprinted instant or sorcery card and play the copy without paying its mana cost. 
 
---
 
Q: Also, in its effect will I get the instant or sorcery every turn or just one?
 
A: You'll get to play a copy of a card imprinted on the Mirror every turn.
 
---
 
Q: Can I remove more than one instant or sorcery?
 
-Calie
 
A: Sure, but you can remove only one card each time you play the ability that lets you remove cards.
 
Also, no matter how many cards are imprinted on the Mirror, you can only copy one each upkeep.
 
---
 
Q: Can you animate and attack with a Blinkmoth Nexus the first turn you play it?
 
-Julian
 
A: No. Once the Nexus becomes a creature, it sees that it hasn't been in play since the start of your turn, and it is then affected by summoning sickness.
 
---
 
Q: I used Aether Burst (with one in my graveyard) to return a Horseshoe Crab and a Morphling back to my opponent's hand. He then made Morphling not the target of spell or abilities, he then told me the effect of the Aether Burst "fizzles" or doesn't work and I can't return the Crab as well. Is he correct?
 
A: No. A spell is countered in this way only if ALL of the targets are made illegal 413.2a). Since the Crab is still a legal target, The Aether Burst does as much as it can, and sends the Crab back to his hand.
 
---
 
Q: I tap my opponent's Goblin Sharpshooter. Then I attacked with a Riptide Entrancer to gain control of his Sharpshooter. But to use her ability I had to sacrifice her. In doing so, since she hit the graveyard, can he untap the Sharpshooter and respond by shooting itself (killing it so I don't get it)?
 
-Majestic
 
A: No. The sacrifice and control change both happen during the resolution of the Entrancer's ability. By the time the Sharpshooter's trigger is put on the stack, you have control of the Sharpshooter.
 
---
 
Q: If a 2/2 creature with double strike were to block a regular 4/4, the 2/2 would first deal its combat damage to the 4/4 and then during the second combat damage step both the 2/2 and 4/4 deal each other damage thus killing them both. Correct?
 
A: Correct.
 
---
 
Q: If a 2/2 creature with double strike were to block a regular 1/1, what would happen?
 
A: Then the 2/2 would kill the 1/1 during the first strike damage step, and when it came time to assign regular damage, the 2/2 would look around, see that it's not in combat with anyone, and not assign regular combat damage.
 
---
 
Q: If a 2/2 creature with double strike were to attack and be blocked by a regular 2/2, what would happen?
 
A: This is the same answer as above. It has nobody blocking it when it comes time to assign regular combat damage, and so it wouldn't assign any damage during the regular combat damage step.
 
(However, if the double striker had trample, it would do damage to the player in the regular combat damage step.)
 
---
 
Q: If any creature with double strike were to attack and not be blocked, what would happen?
 
A: It would deal damage to the defending player in both first strike and regular combat, so the defending player would end up taking damage equal to twice the creature's power.
 
---
 
Q: Please include a definition of double strike that would be appropriate and easily understandable.
 
-Danny H.
 
A: The easiest definition I can come up with is, "A creature with double strike does damage in both the first strike and regular damage steps."
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 1998-2004 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.