Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

The Red Dawn

Q: Player A cast Sleight of Mind on Player B's Celestial Dawn and changed the word white into red.
 
A: Oracle is our friend here ..
 
Celestial Dawn
{1}{W}{W}
Enchantment
Nonland cards you own that aren't in play, spells you control, and nonland permanents you control are white. Lands you control are Plains. Spells and abilities you control produce white mana instead of any other color. You may spend white mana as though it were mana of any color.
 
Sleight of Mind
{U}
Instant
Change the text of target spell or permanent by replacing all instances of one color word with another. (For example, you may change "target black spell" to "target blue spell.") (This effect doesn't end at end of turn.)
 
So our Sleighted Celestial Dawn reads...
 
Celestial Dawn
{1}{W}{W}
Enchantment
Nonland cards you own that aren't in play, spells you control, and nonland permanents you control are RED. Lands you control are Plains. Spells and abilities you control produce RED mana instead of any other color. You may spend RED mana as though it were mana of any color.
 
---
 
Q: What does that mean to Player B? All nonland cards of Player B not in play are red and all nonland permanents he own in play are red - OK, but all lands are plains and produce white mana!
 
A: This is incorrect. Read the Sleighted Dawn:
 
Spells and abilities you control produce RED mana instead of any other color.
 
This includes the mana ability of all of Player B's lands.
 
---
 
Q: All colored mana symbols are white? or red?
 
A: Neither. The colored mana symbols are what they are. Celestial Dawn then makes the card a red card (instead of the color it would normally be because of its mana symbols).
 
---
 
Q: You see, on Celestial Dawn is printed a white mana symbol....
 
A: Therein shows the danger of relying on the printed card. The Oracle is ALWAYS used to determine the card's wording in tournaments.
 
---
 
Q: In this case, is this change into red by the instant spell Sleight of Mind until end of turn or permanent?
 
-Daniel
 
A: Read the reminder text on Sleight of Mind:
 
(This effect doesn't end at end of turn.)
 
---
 
Q: Can Ion Storm remove counters from permanents you control that were not placed there by one of your spells?
 
A: Only +1/+1 counters or charge counters, as the cost requires. But you can remove one of those type counters placed on the permanent by an opponent.
 
Ion Storm
{2}{R}
Enchantment
{1}{R}, Remove a +1/+1 counter or a charge counter from a permanent you control: Ion Storm deals 2 damage to target creature or player.
 
---
 
Q: Example: Bomb Squad puts a fuse counter on my Ornithopter, I pay (1)(R) and remove it for two damage.
 
A: Can't do that. A fuse counter is not a +1/+1 counter or a charge counter, so it can't be removed to satisfy Ion Storm's cost.
 
---
 
Q: Why does storm never trigger if you use Mirari or Mischievous Quanar to copy the original spell (the one that has storm)?
 
A: Because you are not playing the Mirari or Quanar copy (you are putting it on the stack). (503.10)
 
---
 
Q: When you entwine a spell, must you do what the card says from top to bottom or can you do all the parts of the spell in any order?
 
-Ray C.
 
A: You must execute the actions in the order they are written.
 
---
 
Q: Can you imprint more than one spell on Panoptic Mirror?
 
-Tyler D.
 
A: Yes.
 
---
 
Q: How do I become a level 1 judge to run tournaments at my local card shop? I can't seem to find out anywhere how to take the test. I've called another card shop and also looked around at wizards.com. If you can give me any information on where to look next that would be great.
 
-Gavin
 
A: As Ray wrote on Monday, it is not necessary to be a certified judge to run tournaments. (Go read his whole article, it's a great read.)
 
If you still wish to become a certified judge, you need to contact a Level 3 or higher judge. There is always a Level 3 Judge conducting certification at Pro Tours. There are usually certifications done during Grand Prix events also.
 
A link to all worldwide level 3 judges is at http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=judge/contactinfo. This does not give contact information, although I'm confident that if you write Wizards (dci@wizards.com would probably be the best place for this), they would either be able to provide the information for that person or pass the request on to that person. (I have not tried this, so I do not know this for sure. They do not put the email address directly on the page due to the prevalence of harvesting bots, and the amount of spam the judges would consequently receive.)
 
---
 
Q: What is double strike?
 
A: Double Strike is defined in rule 502.28 of the Comprehensive Rulebook (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/oracle).
 
(Basically, Double Strike allows a creature with Double Strike do deal damage in both the first strike and regular combat damage steps.)
 
---
 
Q: what is a land lair? i.e. Rith's Grove
 
-Frog
 
A: A land lair is a land with a subtype of lair.
 
(The only lairs currently in the game are from Planeshift. They all tap for one of 3 colors of mana - one color and its 2 allies. The colors of mana that the lairs tap for are equivalent to the colored mana symbols in the casting cost of the Dragon Legend from Invasion that the lair is named after.)
 
See you Wednesday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.