Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Multiple Creature Types

 
Q: When, if ever, does a creature's type encompass more than one type?
 
A: From the rulebook:
 
212.3c Creature subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: “Creature  - Minotaur,” “Artifact Creature — Golem Legend,” etc. Creature subtypes are also called creature types. Creatures may have multiple subtypes.
 
Example: “Creature — Goblin Wizard” means the card is a creature with the subtypes Goblin and Wizard.
 
---
 
Q: Can you put a Goblin Goon ("Creature -- Goblin Mutant") be put into play using Goblin Lackey's ability?
 
A: Yes. Goblin Goon has the subtype Goblin. This means Goblin Goon is a goblin.
 
---
 
Q: Why does the Goon count as a Goblin if its type is "Goblin Mutant?"
 
A: See the rule above. Each individual word after "Creature - " on the card is a creature type of that creature.
 
---
 
Q: I read somewhere that a Blinking Spirit, with a creature type of Blinking Spirit, doesn't also count as a Spirit.
 
A: According to the Oracle, Blinking Spirit is now only a "Creature - Spirit." That means that the only creature type of Blinking Spirit is Spirit.
 
---
 
Q: Does a Gaea's Skyfolk count as both an Elf and a Merfolk?
 
-jcben
 
A: Gaea's Skyfolk is a "Creature - Elf Merfolk." So yes, Gaea's Skyfolk is both an Elf and a Merfolk.
 
---
 
Q: I had Trap Runner out and my friend had 3 creatures out.  My friend attacked with the three creatures.  I blocked a 2/2 with Trap Runner and tapped it to block another creature.  I let the third one through its full damage. My friend doesn’t believe I can block 2 creatures with Trap Runner.
 
-Eric B.
 
A: Yes, you can cause 2 creatures to become blocked with Trap Runner. By blocking one, you cause the one you block to become blocked. Then, by using the ability, you can cause another creature to become "blocked," and thus be unable to assign combat damage to you.
 
309.2f An attacking creature with one or more creatures declared as blockers for it becomes a blocked creature; one with no blockers becomes an unblocked creature. The creature’s status remains unchanged until the creature is removed from combat or the combat phase ends, whichever comes first. (Some effects can change a creature’s status.)
 
Trap Runner
{2}{W}{W}
Creature -- Soldier
2/3
{T}: Target attacking unblocked creature becomes blocked. Play this ability only during the declare blockers step. (This ability works on unblockable creatures.)
 
310.2c A blocked creature will assign combat damage, divided as its controller chooses, to the creatures blocking it. If no creatures are currently blocking it (if, for example, they were destroyed or removed from combat), it will assign no combat damage.
 
(See also Mantra 10 - you can play abilities after blockers are declared but before combat damage is assigned.)
 
---
 
Q: I have an Avarice Totem exchanged to me. I then decide to exchange it back by tapping five lands. He, in response, sacrifices the targeted permanent in the exchange. What happens with the Totem?
 
-William F.
 
A: From the Rulebook:
 
Exchange
A spell or ability may instruct two players to exchange something (for example, life totals or control of two permanents) as part of its resolution. When such a spell or ability resolves, if it can’t exchange the chosen things, it has no effect on them.
 
Since both cards aren't there to exchange, nothing happens. So, you keep the Totem.
 
---
 
Q: Does the Dragonspeaker Shaman's ability of 'dragon spells cost 2 less to play' affect the Imperial Hellkite's morph cost?
 
-Brian
 
A: No. When you play the Hellkite face down, it has no creature types. Thus, the cost reduction of the Shaman doesn't apply, since it's not a dragon.
 
---
 
Q: I have 5 counters on a Mirrodin’s core. Can I tap the card and remove all 5 charge counters at once for 5 mana of any color OR am I limited to removing one charge counter per tap?
 
-M
 
A: What does Mantra 11 say?
 
11. To play an ability, you must be able to fully pay the costs. You can't play the ability if you can't pay the costs. You may play the ability as many times as you can pay the costs. (11 May 04)
 
And what is the FULL COST of playing Mirrodin's Core's final ability?
 
"{T}, Remove a charge counter from Mirrodin's Core"
 
So each time you can BOTH tap the Core and remove ONE counter from it, you may add one mana of any color to your mana pool. If you can't tap it (because it is already tapped, for example), you can't get mana from it.
 
---
 
Q: My friend had Pristine Angel out untapped and I used my Oblivion Stone. Would Pristine Angel be destroyed?
 
-Robby W.
 
A: Let's see, does protection help Pristine Angel here?
 
-Damage: Nope, the Stone isn't doing damage.
-Enchantments: Nope, the Stone isn't an enchantment.
-Equipment: Nope, the Stone isn't equipment.
-Blocking: Nope, the Angel is not in combat with the Stone.
-Targeting: Nope, the Stone doesn't use the word "TARGET," so it doesn't target the Angel (Mantra 3).
 
Since none of the protection parts apply, the Angel will be destroyed.
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.