Judge Bill


HOME

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers
Scott Gerhardt
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Andy VanZandt
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage  
Paul's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

12.09.04 
Title: Vision Charm
Questions: 9
 
---
  
Q: I have a question about Vision Charm's "all lands of one type are basic lands of your choice until end of turn,"  and "target artifact phases out."
 
A: I have a feeling an updated wording might be key to answering this question, so let me put it in here before I continue...
 
Vision Charm
U  
Instant   
Choose one — Target artifact phases out; or target player puts the top four cards from his or her library into his or her graveyard; or all lands of one type become the basic land type of your choice until end of turn. 
 
---
 
Q: What does one type mean?  I know dual lands are not considered a "type" of land, but are nonbasic lands a type of land?  Instead of just Mountain to Swamp for instance, can I change all basic lands to the lands of my choice?
 
A: Land types are the words after the dash in the type line. Go look at a Forest from 8th, Mirrodin, or Champions. The type line on that card will read:
 
"Basic Land - Forest"
 
Now go get a Cloudpost from Mirrodin. Its type line reads:
 
"Land - Locus"
 
One final example. Go get a Cloudcrest Lake, from Champions. Its type line reads:
 
"Land"
 
So what are the land types of the above 3 cards? In order:
 
Forest has land type "Forest."
Cloudpost has type "Locus."
And since there is no dash on the Cloudcrest Lake's type line, Cloudcrest Lake has no land type.
 
(A complete list of land types, along with the cards they are on, is as follows:
 
Desert (Desert)
Forest (Forest, Bayou, Savannah, Taiga, Tropical Island)
Island (Island, Tropical Island, Tundra, Underground Sea, Volcanic Island)
Lair (The 5 tri-lands from Planeshift)
Locus (Cloudpost)
Mine (Urza's Mine)
Mountain (Mountain, Badlands, Plateau, Taiga, Volcanic Island)
Plains (Plains, Plateau, Savannah, Scrubland, Tundra)
Power-Plant (Urza's Power Plant)
Swamp (Swamp, Badlands, Bayou, Scrubland, Underground Sea,)
Tower (Urza's Tower)
Urza's (Urza's Mine, Power Plant, and Tower))
 
Non-basic is not a land type. (It indicates the lack of the supertype basic.)
Artifact is not a land type. (It is its own type of card.)
 
So, for the final ability on Vision Charm (all lands of one type become the basic land type of your choice until end of turn), you choose one type from the above list, and then choose a basic land type (of which there are 5 - Forest, Island, Plains, Mountain, and Swamp). Any card that is in play with the first chosen land type becomes the second chosen type. This means they lose all abilities, and gain the ability to tap for the given type of mana that the second chosen type produces.
 
The lands that are affected do not gain the supertype basic. So unless they had the supertype basic before (which means they were a Forest, Island, Plains, Mountain, or Swamp to start with), they are still non-basic.
 
---
 
Q: If I cast Vision Charm at the end of my opponent's end of turn phase under a Back to Basics lock, will I be able to change all my nonbasic lands to basic lands, in order to untap for my turn?
 
A: No, for 2 reasons:
 
1) The lands that are affected do not gain the supertype basic.
2) The effect lasts "UNTIL end of turn." This means no matter when you cast Vision Charm, its effect will wear off before you untap.
 
---
 
Q: This may also be applicable for Wastelands, and Price of Progress.
 
A: The trick does not work here either, due to reason #1 above.
 
---
 
Q: When an opponent tries to imprint an artifact, can I phase it out in response?  If so, is he able to imprint anything on it when it phases back in?
 
A: You can phase it out, but he can still imprint on it after it is phased out. (The artifact doesn't have to be in play for imprint to work). When the artifact phases in, it will continue to remember what card is imprinted on it. (You are unable to imprint another card, because phasing in doesn’t trigger comes into play abilities.)
 
---
 
Q: Can I cast this at the end of my opponent's turn under a Smokestack or Tangle Wire lock to skip its effects for my turn?
 
-William
 
A: Yes.
 
---
 
Q: If I have one face up Samurai of the Pale Curtain and my opponent discards a card can he respond and activate the maddening cost of a card/instant he activates is the only card in his hand? Basically I am asking if he discards can he activate abilities even though they are being removed form the game and not hitting the grave? 
 
-Paddy
 
A: Um, read Samurai of the Pale Curtain again ...
 
Samurai of the Pale Curtain
WW  
Creature — Fox Samurai  
2/2  
Bushido 1 (When this blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
If a permanent would be put into a graveyard, remove it from the game instead.
 
Permanents are cards that are in the in play zone. Samurai of the Pale Curtain, therefore, doesn't look at cards that are being discarded from your hand.
 
---
 
Q: If you imprint an instant with X in the casting cost onto Isochron Scepter then when you copy the spell can you pay into the X?
 
-JD
 
 
---
 
Q: Can you elaborate in the rules for “in play” statement? We play a lot with tokens and some cards states “put in play X tokens”. We don’t know if those tokens or creatures (some coming from the graveyard) are affected by summoning sickness. Thanks for any help.
 
-Marco P.
 
A: Creatures that come into play via any means are affected by summoning sickness. It doesn't matter what they are, or how they got there - they will have summoning sickness until the next time you untap.
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 1998-2004 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.