Judge Bill


HOME

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers
Scott Gerhardt
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Andy VanZandt
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage  
Paul's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge
Title: Static Cling
Questions: 5

12.17.04 

 
---
 
Yay, another error. At least this time I got the question right, only my reasoning is wrong. A fellow judge writes in to say the following (I'll leave it without comment, because it is exactly correct...)
 
C: The reasoning given for the answer provided below is incorrect.
 
>>>Q: I understand that Samurai of the Pale Curtain is removed from the game if it is killed. Can you explain why this occurs?
 
-Traci H.
 
A: 410.10d (quoted below) requires us to look at the game just before the Samurai of the Pale Curtain left play. Therefore, the game sees an effect that says "If a permanent would go to the graveyard, remove it from the game instead." Thus, the Samurai of the Pale Curtain will be removed from the game.
 
410.10d Abilities that trigger on one or more permanents leaving play, or on a player losing control of a permanent, must be treated specially because the permanent with the ability may no longer be in play after the event. The game has to “look back in time” to determine what triggered. Each time an event removes from play or changes who controls one or more permanents, all the permanents in play just before the event (with continuous effects that existed at that time) are checked for trigger events that match what just left play or changed control.<<<
 
Rule 410.10d deals with triggered abilities and Samurai of the Pale Curtain does not have a triggered ability, it has a static ability that creates a replacement effect. This ability does not wait until a card gets there and then removes it from the game; it removes it from the game as part of the event that would cause it to go to the graveyard in the first place.
 
-Chris
 
---
 
Moving on ...
 
Q: Assume that at least one Myr Servitor is in the graveyard and I put another in play from my hand. The turn after the second Servitor is played, does this create a "lock" with Grinding Station (i.e. can I keep a sac loop going between the two)?
 
-James
 
A: No. First, Myr Servitor's ability will only trigger once, at the beginning of the upkeep. If the Servitor is not in play, then its ability won't trigger that turn.
 
So in the situation described above, if the Servitor that was in play at the beginning of the upkeep is still in play (and hasn't left play at all) since then, it will return the other Servitor. The other Servitor won't trigger, because the time at which it would trigger has passed.
 
Also, for a Servitor to return all other Servitors to play, it has to have been in play continuously since its ability triggered. If it has not been in play continuously since it triggered, then when the triggered ability resolves, it will do nothing, because the Servitor to which the trigger belongs is no longer in play. (If the Servitor leaves play and comes back [for example, if it is sacrificed to Grinding Station and another Servitor brings it back], the game treats it as a completely different Servitor than the one to which the trigger belongs.)
 
So you can't have 2 Servitors in play, use Grinding Station's ability twice, and end up with 2 Servitors still in play. (You could sacrifice one per turn this way, if you wanted.)
 
---
 
Q: I play a deck loaded with creatures like Myr Moonvessel, Cathodion and Su-chi, creatures that give me a mana boost when they hit the graveyard.
They all carry text similar to: - when "Cardname" is put into a graveyard from play, add XXX mana to your mana pool.
 
If i have a couple of these creatures on the table and play a Furnace dragon, do I get the mana from the creatures removed?
 
A: No. The creatures are removed from the game. This is a completely different place than the graveyard, so the cards won't trigger.
 
---
 
Q: If one of my mana boosting creatures (See above) is killed during the combat phase, by another creature, Lightning Bolt or Shatter or similar, do I have to use the mana right away casting a instant spell to avoid mana burn or can i save the mana and use it on my post-combat main phase?
 
-Jonas C.
 
A: Mana clears from the pool at the end of each phase. So you would have to use it on an instant in the combat phase to avoid mana burn ... your mana pool will clear when you leave the combat phase.
 
---
 
Q: How would your correctly use land-tapping cards such as Early Frost, Rishadian Port, or Mishra's Helix? would you have to play them right after their untap phase? It seems like the best time to play them and I am just confused on the effectiveness and rules of these cards
 
-Brian E.
 
A: You've got the correct idea.
 
---
 
Q: Does Goblin Charbelcher deal any damage if there are no lands in your deck?
 
-DC
 
 
Assuming this column is posted Friday, I'll be back Monday if there are any questions in my inbox. If this is posted on Monday (or later) or there are no questions in my inbox Sunday night, I'll be off on vacation for the next week, so my next column will be on the 28th.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 1998-2004 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.