Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Mantra 12

8.24.04 
 
Short Answer:
 
-"Artifact" is not a creature type. Some artifact creatures have a creature type (most frequently golem or myr), but if it an artifact creature does not have a creature type, then you can't save them from Harsh Mercy.
 
---
 
Q: Deconstruct tells me to "add 3 green mana to my mana pool." When I use the card and get the 3 green mana, does this mean that I can put 3 green mana from my deck and put them in my mana pool on the table?
 
A: well, I've gotten enough of these questions to make Mantra 12. Mantra 12 reads as follows:
 
12. Mana in your mana pool has nothing to do with
 lands. Most lands produce mana, but mana does not produce lands.
 
(Although this Mantra would be moot if they PUT THE TEXT BACK ON BASIC LANDS. The mana symbol on the basic lands just shows what type of mana the land produces.)
 
So the answer to your question is no, you would not take 3 Forests out of your deck. You simply have 3 green mana to spend. (If you do not use the mana before the end of the current phase, you will take mana burn.)
 
(Thanks to my friends on Magic Online for letting me run this by them.)
 
(I have also sent in a new Mantra page with this Mantra inserted, as well as Mantra 10 moved to the bottom for easier readability. Hopefully it's already been posted.)
 
---
 
Q: For Clearwater Goblet, is it a one time effect, or does it happen every turn?
 
A: It happens every turn.
 
---
 
Q: For Trolls of Tel-Jilad: When they are Regenerated do they come in tapped?
 
-Jesse
 
A: First, you can only regenerate a creature that is in play, and you have to play the regeneration ability before it would be destroyed. A regeneration ability can't be played on any creature that isn't currently in play.
 
Regeneration does not remove the creature from play. It stays in play, but one of the effects of regenerating a creature is that regeneration taps the creature.
 
---
 
Q: I control 2 Mogg Flunkies and no other creatures. Am I allowed to attack or block?
 
-Click
 
A: Yes. Each one, when it attacks or blocks, sees the other one in combat with it, so the drawback is satisfied.
 
---
 
Q: Player One has six 1/1 creatures out (let's say, various goblins) and Player 2 had four creatures out (various zombies). Each have creatures in the graveyard. Player 2 casts (on his turn) Shaman's Trance, Wrath of God, and Repopulate so where the Repopulate resolves after both the Shaman's Trance and Wrath of God. If he stated his own graveyard, would Shaman's Trance allow the Repopulate to put all of the creatures in both Players' graveyards into Player 2's deck?
 
-DJ
 
A: No. All Shaman's Trance allows you to do with card in the other player's graveyard is play them as if they were in your graveyard. They are not actually in your graveyard, nor are you allowed to affect them like they are in your graveyard (except for playing them).
 
---
 
Q: If I play Mindslaver and activate it right away, can my opponent respond with an Oxidize?
 
A: No. Your opponent does not have a time where he has priority while the Mindslaver is in play.
 
---
 
Q: And how many consecutive turns do I get?
 
-Nathan G.
 
A: One. You get your turn, and then your opponent takes his turn (under your control).
 
...
 
If you wanted to ask, "How many turns do I get to take without my opponent being able to play one of his turns," The answer is two, since you control the intervening turn, and with optimal play, your opponent won't be able to do anything until those two turns are up. (Meaning you tap him out during the turn you control.)
 
---
 
Q: If have a Lancers en-Kor and a Task Force in play and my opponent attacks me with a Darksteel Colossus, can I block with the Lancers en-Kor and activate its ability to redirect 2 damage on itself and 9 on the Task Force effectively avoiding to take trample damage ?
 
A: No. As Mantra 5 says, you only need to look at the toughness of the defending creature. Lancers en-Kor's toughness is 3, therefore your opponent only needs to assign 3 damage to the Lancers en-Kor, and he can assign the other 8 damage to you.
 
(What you want to do here is block with both creatures, and then activate the Lancers en-Kor's ability 11 times targeting the Task Force. Then, no matter how he assigns damage, you will end up with an undamaged Lancers en-Kor, and a 1/36 Task Force with 11 damage on it.)
 
---
 
Q: In the previous example, if Rite of Passage is also in play, how many +1/+1 counters would I get on my creatures after damage is dealt?
 
-Simon G.
 
A: Each creature, no matter how much it is damaged, only gets ONE +1/+1 counter each time it is damaged. So you will be able to put a maximum of one +1/+1 counter on each creature (assuming you let one of the assigned damage hit the Lancers en-Kor).
 
Rite of Passage
{2}{G}
Enchantment
Whenever a creature you control is dealt damage, put a +1/+1 counter on it. (The damage is dealt before the counter is put on.)
 
---
 
Q: Is there anyway to Fling a Piledriver with an increased attack after it has done damage?
 
-Joann
 
A: Sure. Just put combat damage on the stack, and (before combat damage resolves) play Fling.
 
---
 
Q: Can a Spectral Shift modify a text of a land?
 
-Jorge F.
 
A: Sure. You can't change the land NAME, but you can change the land subtype. So if you change the Subtype Plains on a Plains to Mountain, for example, you will have a Plains that produces red mana (and only red mana. It will no longer produce white mana, since it no longer has the Plains subtype).
 
---
 
Q: Can I use Spectral Shift to make Metalworker produce blue mana rather than colorless?
 
-Moxey
 
A: No. Colorless is not a color. The 5 colors of Magic are Red, Blue, Black, White, and Green.
 
---
 
Q: The idea of the Task Force/Warrior en-Kor/Animal Boneyard combo is to use the en-Kor's ability multiple times on Task Force and then sacrifice it with Boneyard to get high amount of life. But isn't Mantra 3 a problem here (If the card doesn't say 'TARGET,' it doesn't target)? The en-Kor ability doesn't say "target" so why should it trigger Task Force's ability?
 
-Pawel K.
 
A: I will post the Oracle wording below. The card does not say "target," true. But the Oracle wording, which is used at all sanctioned tournaments, does.
 
Warrior en-Kor
{W}{W}
Creature -- Knight
2/2
{0}: The next 1 damage that would be dealt to Warrior en-Kor this turn is dealt to target creature you control instead.
 
---
 
Q: My friend has a 4/4 creature with Lightning Greaves equipped. I have a 4/1 Provoke creature. Can I provoke his creature to block mine or does Greaves stop this?
 
-Richard S.
 
A: First, read the provoke ability:
 
502.29a Provoke is a triggered ability. “Provoke” means “Whenever this creature attacks, you may choose to have target creature defending player controls block this creature this combat if able. If you do, untap that creature.”
 
Provoke uses the word "target," so you will be unable to Provoke the 4/4 creature.
 
---
 
Q: From my question from last column referring to the Tendrils of Agony, what if my opponent blew up a Pyrite Spellbomb at me when I was at two but I wanted to play the Tendrils before his 2 damage?
 
A: You have priority during the main phase. You can either use that priority to play a spell or pass. If you pass, and your opponent plays the Spellbomb's ability, then when you get priority back, you can't play the Tendrils, since the stack is not empty. If you play the Tendrils, your opponent can just use the Spellbomb in response.
 
You can't pass, have your opponent play the Spellbomb's ability, and say "wait, I wanted to play this."
 
---
 
Q: And also to the Duress conflict, I thought sorceries don't resolve until the stack is empty.
 
A: No. Spells, no matter what type they are, resolve last in, first out. Once they get on the stack, the game doesn't care what type they are.
 
---
 
Q: So wouldn't my Duress resolve first, making him discard his Duress?
 
-Omar S.
 
A: No. Once he has played the Duress, it is no longer in his hand.
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.